Flying Fingers



"Flying Fingers," produced jointly by Bill Hillman and Hank O'Neal, features jazz classics, recorded by Costa in 1990-92. Elsie and Henry Hillman wrote the liner notes. Enduring fans, the Hillmans regularly hired Costa to play at family parties and social events.

Costa often played three of the tunes on this CD during his concerts: "Tea for Two," "Manhattan" and "Love for Sale." Costa said, "I play songs that everybody plays, but I try and perform him a little differently." After hearing these tracks, it is easy for the listener to understand the origin of the title of this recording, which is also an original composition that Costa plays. Other jazz standards include "A Foggy Day," "Here's That Rainy Day," "Honeysuckle Rose," "On Green Dolphin Street" and "Caravan."

"Flying Fingers" includes a glorious recording that may be Costa's finest arrangement: "A Nightingale Sang in Berkeley Square." Commenting about this arrangement, Larry Rosenthal, a former pianist with Gus Arnheim, said: "It's as good as Chopin." By itself, Costa's poignant version of this World War II standard is worth the price of the CD.

1. Tea For Two
2. A Nightingale Sang in Berkley Square
3. Manhattan
4. A Foggy Day
5. Over The Rainbow
6. Caravan
7. Here's That Rainy Day
8. Fine and Dandy
9. On Green Dolphin Street
10. Honeysuckle Rose
11. Bluesette
12. If He Walkes Into My Life
13. Love For Sale
14. Mack The Knife
15. Scherzo Espanol
16. Flying Fingers
17. Jazzspeak

© Copyright 2015 Dr. Hugh Glenn